Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Sons of Encouragement

Sons Of Encouragement: Five Men Who Quietly Changed Eternity

Francine Rivers is by far one of my favorite fiction authors.  She has written the popular Redeeming Love (which if you haven't read you need to, it is amazing!), The Last Sin Eater, and tons more books. 

Besides Redeeming Love my favorites are the Lineage of Grace series and the Sons of Encouragement series.  These books are historical fiction about men and women in Scripture.  Rivers has a way of bringing these men and women and their situations to life like you've never experienced.  The Lineage of Grace series is about the 5 women in the lineage of Jesus.  It is eye opening to read about their lives and to put yourself in their position, and to experience what they could have felt emotionally.  I highly recommend these books to you!

The Sons of Encouragement series is about men of faith who served in the shadow of others- Aaron, Caleb, Jonathan, Amos, and Silas.  I am currently reading this series for the first time and have read "The Priest" about Aaron and am currently reading "The Warrior" about Caleb.  In the same manner as the Lineage of Grace series, Rivers sets the scene of Scripture in such a vivid way and brings to life the characters on the pages of Scripture. 

Have you ever thought about the possibility that Aaron was jealous of Moses?  After all, Aaron was the older brother and yet his younger brother grew up in the Egyptian palace while Aaron was a slave of the Pharaoh.  It would have undoubtedly been difficult at times for Aaron to understand it all and to accept God's plan.  The sacrifices and the humble heart Aaron must of had to cultivate are amazing when you REALLY think about their situation. 

The theme of this series is that God used these men in a more "quiet" way than others, but they changed history through their obedience to God. I have learned so much reading these books and hope that you will take the time to read them as well!


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...